2013-14 Arena Grand Prix Series Kicks off in Minneapolis

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – The opening stop of USA Swimming’s 2013-14 Arena Grand Prix Series – the Nov. 14-16 Arena Grand Prix at Minneapolis – is expected to feature Olympic gold medalists Claire Donahue (Lenoir City, Tenn.), Conor Dwyer (Winnetka, Ill.), Jessica Hardy (Long Beach, Calif.), Matt McLean (Sterling, Va.) and Allison Schmitt (Canton, Mich.) competing at the University of Minnesota Aquatic Center.

FINA World Championships silver medalist David Plummer (Oklahoma City, Okla.), who trains in the Minneapolis area and swam collegiately at the University of Minnesota, is one of nearly 20 members of the 2013-14 USA Swimming National Team scheduled to swim in the short-course yards meet. In total, approximately 600 top U.S. and international swimmers are expected to compete.

The action begins Thursday, Nov. 14 and continues through Saturday, Nov. 16 with prelims at 9 a.m. CT followed by finals at 6 p.m. CT. Tickets are required for all sessions and will be on sale each competition day at the University Aquatic Center Ticket Booth.

A live webcast of the entire meet will be streamed online via usaswimming.org. 

As part of USA Swimming’s partnership with Arena, the Arena Grand Prix Series will offer swimmers the opportunity to take home prize money for top finishes in all individual Olympic-distance events. In total, $150,000 in prize money is available to be distributed over the course of the six-meet series. At each meet, $500 will be awarded for a first-place finish, $300 for second and $100 for third in all individual events. Arena is serving as the title sponsor for the Arena Grand Prix Series for the second straight year.

In addition to the prize money, swimmers will compete for a Series grand prize from BMW. For the first time in the history of the Series, BMW will give the highest-scoring eligible male and female U.S. swimmer a one-year lease of a BMW ActiveHybrid 3 Series.

Male and female overall Arena Grand Prix Series champions will be honored at the conclusion of the 2013-14 series based on the number of points accumulated throughout the six meets. Participants will be awarded points in each individual Olympic event throughout the duration of the Series (Five points for first, three for second, one point for third place). Olympic gold medalists Missy Franklin and Ryan Lochte won the 2012-13 series titles.

About USA Swimming
As the National Governing Body for the sport of swimming in the United States, USA Swimming is a 400,000-member service organization that promotes the culture of swimming by creating opportunities for swimmers and coaches of all backgrounds to participate and advance in the sport through clubs, events and education. Our membership is comprised of swimmers from the age group level to the Olympic Team, as well as coaches and volunteers. USA Swimming is responsible for selecting and training teams for international competition including the Olympic Games, and strives to serve the sport through its core objectives: Build the base, Promote the sport, Achieve competitive success. For more information, visit www.usaswimming.org.

ArenaBMWMarriottMyrtha PoolsOmegaPhillips 66SpeedoTYR