Connor Jaeger, Lotte Friis Open Arena Grand Prix at Charlotte with Wins

CHARLOTTE, N.C. – Olympians Connor Jaeger (Fair Haven, New Jersey) and Lotte Friis of Denmark were victorious Thursday in the 800-meter free and 1500m free, respectively, to open the Arena Grand Prix at Charlotte at the Mecklenburg County Aquatic Center. 

Jaeger, who recently completed a standout career at the University of Michigan, outdistance the field with a time of 7 minutes, 58.59 seconds to take the men’s 800m free title in Charlotte for the second straight year. Fellow Olympian Matt McLean (Sterling, Virginia) was second in 8:03.08, followed by Michael Klueh (Evansville, Indiana), who was third in 8:06.18.

The 1500m free silver medalist as last year’s FINA World Championships, Friis edged a pair of North Baltimore Aquatic Club teammates in 16:07.14. Sixteen-year-old Becca Mann (Homer Glen, Illinois) was second in 16:08.86, and Gillian Ryan (Kutztown, Pennsylvania) was third in 16:12.64.

The four-day meet continues through Sunday with 9 a.m. EDT prelims and 6 p.m. EDT finals. 

Universal Sports Network will televise live coverage from the Arena Grand Prix at Charlotte on Friday and Saturday at 6 p.m. EDT. Click here to find Universal Sports Network on your television provider. Additionally, a live webcast of the entire meet will be streamed online through Sunday via

The Arena Grand Prix at Charlotte is the fifth stop of USA Swimming’s 2013-14 Arena Grand Prix Series, which provides the nation’s best swimmers six opportunities to face top-flight competition on U.S. soil. The series concludes June 19-22 with the Arena Grand Prix at Santa Clara (California).

As part of USA Swimming’s partnership with Arena, the Arena Grand Prix Series will offer swimmers the opportunity to take home prize money for top finishes in all individual Olympic-distance events. In total, $150,000 in prize money is available to be distributed over the course of the six-meet series. At each meet, $500 will be awarded for a first-place finish, $300 for second and $100 for third in all individual events. Arena is serving as the title sponsor for the Arena Grand Prix Series for the second straight season.

In addition to the prize money, swimmers will compete for a Series grand prize from BMW. For the first time in the history of the Series, BMW will give the highest-scoring eligible male and female U.S. swimmer a one-year lease of a BMW ActiveHybrid 3 Series. 
Male and female overall Arena Grand Prix Series champions will be honored at the conclusion of the 2013-14 series based on the number of points accumulated throughout the six meets. Participants will be awarded points in each individual Olympic event throughout the duration of the Series (Five points for first, three for second, one point for third place). 

About USA Swimming
As the National Governing Body for the sport of swimming in the United States, USA Swimming is a 400,000-member service organization that promotes the culture of swimming by creating opportunities for swimmers and coaches of all backgrounds to participate and advance in the sport through clubs, events and education. Our membership is comprised of swimmers from the age group level to the Olympic Team, as well as coaches and volunteers. USA Swimming is responsible for selecting and training teams for international competition including the Olympic Games, and strives to serve the sport through its core objectives: Build the base, Promote the sport, Achieve competitive success. For more information, visit

ArenaBMWMarriottMyrtha PoolsOmegaPhillips 66SpeedoTYR