Lochte, Franklin, Phelps and Beisel Highlight the 2011-2012 USA Swimming National Team

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - USA Swimming today announced the swimmers named to the 2011-2012 USA Swimming National Team. The roster features a total of 109 swimmers, including 2011 World Championships gold medalists Ryan Lochte (Daytona Beach, Fla.), Missy Franklin (Centennial, Colo.), Michael Phelps (Baltimore, Md.) and Elizabeth Beisel (Saunderstown, R.I.).

Olympic and World champion Lochte made the National Team in five events (100m back/200m back/200m IM/400m IM /200m free), the most events of any swimmer named to the roster this year. Phelps qualified in four events (200m free/100m fly/200m fly/200m IM) as did World Championship gold medalists Franklin (100m free/100m back/200m back/200m IM) and Beisel (200m IM/400m IM/400m free/200m back). Two-time Olympian Brendan Hansen (Havertown, Pa.) also returns to the National Team roster for the first time since the 2008 Olympic Games.

The 2011-2012 Open Water National Team features American open water standouts such as Alex Meyer (Ithaca, N.Y.), Eva Fabian (Keene, N.H.), Sean Ryan (Chattanooga, Tenn.) and Christine Jennings (Longmont, Colo.).

Swimmers were selected for the USA Swimming National Team based on their times in Olympic events from the combined results of the 2011 FINA World Championships, the 2011 ConocoPhillips National Championships and the 2011 World University Games. Swimmers with the top six times in each event make the National Team, however, relay lead-offs and time trials are not included. Open water swimmers were selected from the top six finishers at the 2011 USA Swimming 10K Open Water National Championship and World Championship Trials. The complete roster for the 2011-2012 USA Swimming National Team can be found online here.
Benefits offered to USA Swimming National Team members include reimbursement for travel to USA Swimming Grand Prix meets and training camp opportunities. Select athletes are eligible for monthly assistance and Elite Athlete Health Insurance. A full list of opportunities available to members of the National Team is available online at www.usaswimming.org.

USA Swimming also announced the 2011-2012 National Youth Team roster which can be found here. Athletes eligible to make the Junior Team must be under 18 years of age at the start date of the qualifying competition. The athletes with the top six times in Olympic events from the results of the 2011 ConocoPhillips National Championships were named to the team.

As the National Governing Body for the sport of swimming in the United States, USA Swimming is a 300,000-member service organization that promotes the culture of swimming by creating opportunities for swimmers and coaches of all backgrounds to participate and advance in the sport through clubs, events and education. Our membership is comprised of swimmers from the age group level to the Olympic Team, as well as coaches and volunteers. USA Swimming is responsible for selecting and training teams for international competition including the Olympic Games, and strives to serve the sport through its core objectives: Build the base, Promote the sport, Achieve competitive success. For more information, visit www.usaswimming.org.

ArenaBMWMarriottMyrtha PoolsOmegaPhillips 66SpeedoTYR