Swimmers Gear Up for the 2012 Junior Pan Pac Swimming Championships

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – The 2012 Junior Pan Pacific Swimming Championships will feature some of the best up-and-coming swimmers throughout the surrounding Pacific nations including Japan, United States, Australia, Canada, New Zealand, Hong Kong and Mexico. The Junior Pan Pacs will take place August 23-27 in Honolulu, Hawaii.

Some of the names representing Team USA include Junior National Team members Kathleen Baker, Chelsea Chenault, Becca Mann, Leah Smith, Olivia Smoliga and Rachel Zilinskas for the women and Evan Pinion, Chase Kalisz, Kyle Darmody, Jack Conger, David Heron and Janardana Burns on the men’s side. The complete roster of 23 women and 23 men can be found here.

A 10K Open Water Competition will be held on August 27 at Waimea Bay on the island’s north shore. Zilinskas, Mann and Brook Lorentzen will represent the women in the six-lap course measuring 1.66-kilometers each lap as Burns, Heron and Bryan Draganosky will swim for the men.

Prelims and finals on August 23-26 will commence at 9 a.m. and 5 p.m. local time, respectively. The open water race will start at 9 a.m. on August 27.USA Swimming will have a live webcast of the event at the Junior Pan Pacific page, which will include live results.

About USA Swimming
As the National Governing Body for the sport of swimming in the United States, USA Swimming is a 300,000-member service organization that promotes the culture of swimming by creating opportunities for swimmers and coaches of all backgrounds to participate and advance in the sport through clubs, events and education. Our membership is comprised of swimmers from the age group level to the Olympic Team, as well as coaches and volunteers. USA Swimming is responsible for selecting and training teams for international competition including the Olympic Games, and strives to serve the sport through its core objectives: Build the base, Promote the sport, Achieve competitive success. For more information, visit www.usaswimming.org.

ArenaBMWMarriottMyrtha PoolsOmegaPhillips 66SpeedoTYR