Michael Lawrence (2016), Chair
Bob Bowman (2016)
Fernando Canales (2016)
Sid Cassidy (2016)
Brandon Drawz (2016)
Emily Hanson (2015)
Michael Kleuh (2015)
John Leonard (2018)
Teri McKeever (2014)
Jim Miller (2016)
Dale Neuburger (2017)
Chip Peterson (2015)
R. Bill Rose (2018)
Gregg Troy (2014)
Ron Van Pool (2016)
Bill Wadley (2018)
Garrett Weber-Gale (2015)
Jim Wood (2018)
Carol Zaleski (2017)
Tim Bauer (2016), Ex-officio
Frank Busch, Ex-officio
Gregory Eggert (2016), Ex-officio
Aaron Peirsol (2016), Ex-officio
Bill Schalz (2016), Ex-officio
Jim Sheehan (2016), Ex-officio
Bruce Stratton (2016), Ex-officio
Peter Vanderkaay (2016), Ex-officio
Chuck Wielgus, Ex-officio
Mike Unger, Staff Liaison

IRC Meeting Minutes


Mission Statement: To plan and develop the agenda and action items for USA Swimming in the
international area and to expand the influence of USA Swimming in those international organizations
to which USA Swimming relates.

Membership: The International Relations Committee shall consist of the following:
    A Members of USA Swimming who hold any of the following positions shall be automatic
members of the committee during their tenure in these positions: Any FINA, ASUA or
USOC officer, FINA Bureau member, FINA committee chair, the Olympic International
Operations Committee Chair, the Steering Committee Chair, the USA Swimming
representative to the United States Olympic Committee, the current head coaches of
the U.S. Olympic Swimming team, and the immediate past president of USA
    B Five members of USA Swimming with relevant international experience shall be
appointed by the President; these members will be selected from persons who serve in
any of the following positions: Any member of a FINA or ASUA committee or
commission, any officer of the World Swimming Coaches Association, the President of
the American Swimming Coaches Association, the Executive Director of the American
Swimming Coaches Association, the President of the International Swimming Hall of
Fame, the Executive Director of the International Swimming Hall of Fame, the FISU
Chair, representatives of a committee organizing a World Championship in the USA,
officials from the current FINA Lists or officials who have officiated at an Olympic
Games or Long Course World Championship.
    C Five members of USA Swimming with relevant international experience, appointed by
the President.
    D Two members elected by the OIOC at its first meeting following the Olympic Games.
    E A sufficient number of athlete representatives with international competitive experience
on an Olympic, World Championships, Pan American, Pan Pacific, or World University
Games team within 10 years preceding selection to the committee so as to constitute
at least 20 percent of the voting membership.
    F The President, Executive Director and National Team Director of USA Swimming, with
voice but no vote.
Each member shall serve until the conclusion of the House of Delegates meeting after the next
Olympic Games, or until a successor is elected/appointed. The President shall appoint a chairman,
with approval of the Board of Directors. From the members of the committee, the president shall
appoint five continental liaisons to the respective FINA continental organizations of the Americas,
Asia, Africa, Europe, and Oceania.

1 To oversee matters of protocol associated with the visits of representatives of other
countries and visits by corporation members traveling abroad.
2. To review negotiations related to competitions between the United States and foreign
swimming federations.
3. To conduct an ongoing review and analysis of all political aspects and trends of swimming
at the continental and international level.
4. To develop and advance a comprehensive non-technical international strategic plan for
USA Swimming.
5. To identify and promote individuals for nomination and advancement to international
political and leadership positions.
6. To enhance the influence of USA Swimming with FINA and the USOC commensurate with
our competitive success and for the betterment of athlete-centered governance of our

ArenaATTBMWCeraVeMarriottMutual of OmahaMyrtha PoolsOmegaPhillips 66SpeedoTYRUniversal Sports