Schmitt, Ervin Sprint to 100m Free Titles in Charlotte


Six-time Olympic medalist Allison Schmitt (Canton, Mich.) sprinted to victory in the 100-meter freestyle and fellow gold medalist Anthony Ervin (Valencia, Calif.) earned a tie in the same event to lead the USA Swimming National Team members in action Sunday at the Arena Grand Prix at Charlotte at the Mecklenburg County Aquatic Center.

Hungary’s Katinka Hosszu was a double winner for the third straight night, picking up victories in the 200m individual medley and 200m back, and U.S. Olympian Connor Jaeger (Fair Haven, N.J.) earned his third win of the meet in the men’s 1500m free.

In what was an exciting women’s 100m free, Schmitt, who also won the 400m free and was second in the 200m free in Charlotte, touched in 54.65 seconds. Madison Kennedy (Avon, Conn.) finished second in 54.93, and Megan Romano (St. Petersburg, Fla.) grabbed third in 55.07 for her second podium finish of the night.  

In the subsequent men’s 100m free, Ervin and French Olympic gold medalist Yannick Agnel both finished in 49.51 to share the top spot. Olympian Conor Dwyer (Winnetka, Ill.) was third in 49.72 to wrap up a solid meet.

Jaeger, who won the 800m free and 400m free earlier in the meet, cruised to the 1500m title in 15:11.46. Michael Klueh (Evansville, Ind.) was second in 15:22.63, followed by Sean Ryan (Chattanooga, Tenn.) in 15:27.23.

Hosszu took her fifth race of the meet in convincing fashion with a time of 2:10.80 in the women’s 200m IM. Kathleen Baker (Winston-Salem, N.C.) touched second in 2:13.17, followed by Melanie Margalis (Clearwater, Fla.) in 2:13.36.

Just under 20 minutes later, Hosszu won her second event of the night and sixth of the Arena Grand Prix at Charlotte with a time of 2:10.12 in the women’s 200m back. Romano swam to second in 2:11.46, followed by Hannah Moore (Cary, N.C.), who was third in 2:12.20.

In the opening race of the session, Denmark’s Lotte Friis won the women’s 800m free in 8:26.16, edging North Baltimore teammates Becca Mann (Homer Glen, Ill.), who was second in 8:26.16, and Gillian Ryan (Kutztown, Pa.), who grabbed third in 8:34.23.

Brazil’s Thiago Pereira took home the men’s 200m IM in 1:58.44. Dwyer finished second in 2:00.06, while Chase Kalisz (Bel Air, Md.) raced to third in 2:00.80.

Russia’s Arkady Vyatchanin picked up his second win of the meet with a victory in the men’s 200m back in 1:55.33. U.S. Olympian Tyler Clary (Riverside, Calif.) was second in 1:58.03, followed by Omar Pinzon of Colombia in 1:59.76.