Missy Franklin, Ryan Lochte to Lead U.S. at Mutual of Omaha Duel in the Pool


2013 Mutual of Omaha Duel in the Pool


Olympic gold medalists and world record-holders Missy Franklin (Centennial, Colo.) and Ryan Lochte (Daytona Beach, Fla.) are among 14 Olympians slated to lead the United States against Europe’s best in the seventh Mutual of Omaha Duel in the Pool, set for Dec. 11-12, in Indianapolis, Indiana. 

In total, 36 athletes (19 women, 17 men) will represent USA Swimming at the historic Indiana University Natatorium. The roster features individual Olympic gold medalists Franklin, Lochte, Nathan Adrian (Bremerton, Wash.), Tyler Clary (Riverside, Calif.), Natalie Coughlin (Vallejo, Calif.) and Matt Grevers (Lake Forest, Ill.).

Additional Olympic medalists slated to compete for the U.S. include Conor Dwyer (Winnetka, Ill.), Jessica Hardy (Long Beach, Calif.), Caitlin Leverenz (Tucson, Ariz.), Lia Neal (Brooklyn, N.Y.) and Nick Thoman (Cincinnati, Ohio). 

On the local front, Claire Adams (Carmel, Ind.), a two-time U.S. national champion in 2015, also will compete for Team USA.

Guiding the U.S. squad will be head coach Jack Bauerle of the University of Georgia and Athens Bulldog Swim Club, the Team USA women’s head coach at the 2008 Olympic Games.

“The Mutual of Omaha Duel in the Pool is an exciting format for the athletes, fans and viewers, where our sport’s most decorated athletes line up with some of USA Swimming’s future stars,” USA Swimming National Team Director Frank Busch said. “I’m looking forward to watching this group compete against a talented European roster, and the experience gained in Indianapolis will be key heading into an Olympic year.”   

The European roster is expected to be announced next week.  

The Mutual of Omaha Duel in the Pool will be contested in downtown Indianapolis over two sessions: Friday, Dec. 11 at 7 p.m. ET and Saturday, Dec. 12 at 2 p.m. ET. Adult all-session tickets cost $65, $50 and $35 depending on location; Children’s (ages 12 and under) all-session tickets are $55, $40 and $25. Single-session tickets are also available beginning at $20 for adults and $15 for children. All tickets are for reserved seating. Tickets can be purchased via usaswimming.org.

NBC will air two hours of coverage from the Mutual of Omaha Duel in the Pool on Dec. 19.

This year will mark the seventh Mutual of Omaha Duel in the Pool, held every other year since 2003. The U.S. is undefeated and holds a 6-0 all-time record in the competition.

Swimmers can compete in a maximum of six events (individual and relays), and each team may enter up to four swimmers per individual event and one relay. A running score will be kept combining the points earned by both women and men to determine the winning team.

The meet will be comprised of 15 events per gender (13 individual and two relays) with more than $120,000 in prize money on the line. The winning team will take home a portion of the winnings, while prize money will be awarded to the winner of each race. A bonus will also be awarded for any world-record swim at the event.

2015 Mutual of Omaha Duel in the Pool – U.S. Roster

Name  Hometown  Club 
Cammile Adams  Cypress, Texas  SwimMAC Carolina   
Claire Adams  Carmel, Ind.  Carmel Swim Club 
Courtney Bartholomew  Holland, Mich.  Cavalier Swimming   
Natalie Coughlin  Vallejo, Calif.  California Aquatics   
Hali Flickinger                 Spring Grove, Pa.   Athens Bulldog Swim Club/Georgia          
Missy Franklin  Centennial, Colo.      Colorado Stars 
Margo Geer  Milford Center, Ohio    Tucson Ford Dealers Aquatics                  
Jessica Hardy  Long Beach, Calif.      Trojan Swim Club     
Sarah Henry  Garner, N.C.             Aggie Swim Club/Texas A&M                   
Micah Lawrence  Pflugerville, Texas        SwimMAC Carolina   
Caitlin Leverenz  Tucson, Ariz.          California Aquatics   
Becca Mann  Homer Glen, Ill.     North Baltimore Aquatic Club                    
Simone Manuel  Sugar Land, Texas    Stanford Swimming  
Melanie Margalis  Clearwater, Fla.         St. Petersburg Aquatics/Georgia              
Katie Meili  Colleyville, Texas     SwimMAC Carolina   
Lia Neal  Brooklyn, N.Y.        Stanford Swimming                                 
Leah Smith  Pittsburgh, Pa.        Cavalier Swimming   
Laura Sogar  Exeter, R.I.             Bluefish Swim Club/Texas                        
Kelsi Worrell  Mt. Holly, N.J.           University of Louisville 


Name  Hometown  Club 
Nathan Adrian         Bremerton, Wash.     California Aquatics      
Michael Chadwick   Charlotte, N.C.       SwimMAC Carolina/Missouri                     
Tyler Clary                Riverside, Calif.    SwimMAC Carolina      
Kevin Cordes         Naperville, Ill.      Tucson Ford Dealers Aquatics                  
Conor Dwyer        Winnetka, Ill.            Trojan Swim Club        
Nic Fink           Morristown, N.J.       Athens Bulldog Swim Club/Georgia          
Matt Grevers       Lake Forest, Ill.          Tucson Ford Dealers Aquatics                  
Zane Grothe       Boulder City, Nev.     Badger Swim Club/Indiana                        
Connor Jaeger        Fair Haven, N.J.          Club Wolverine            
Ryan Lochte            Daytona Beach, Fla.    SwimMAC Carolina      
Michael McBroom      The Woodlands, Texas   The Woodlands Swim Team/Texas            
Cody Miller              Las Vegas, Nev.       Badger Swim Club/Indiana                        
Josh Prenot            Santa Maria, Calif.    California Aquatics      
Josh Schneider        Cincinnati, Ohio       New York Athletic Club/Cincinnati             
Tom Shields           Huntington Beach, Calif.  California Aquatics      
Nick Thoman            Cincinnati, Ohio  Tucson Ford Dealers Aquatics                  
Andrew Wilson        Bethesda, Md.  Longhorn Aquatics/Emory 

Coaching Staff
Head Coach:
Jack Bauerle (Georgia/Athens Bulldog Swim Club)
Women’s Assistant Coaches: Augie Busch (Virginia/Cavalier Swimming), Tracy Duchac (Stanford/Stanford Swimming), Todd Schmitz (Colorado Stars); Men’s Assistant Coaches: Mandy Commons-DiSalle (Cincinnati/Bearcat Aquatics), Yuri Suguiyama (Cal/California Aquatics), Josh White (Michigan/Club Wolverine)