U.S. Short Course World Championship Roster Announced


Forty-three of the nation’s top swimmers, including 2012 Olympic gold medalists Ryan Lochte (Daytona Beach, Fla.) and Allison Schmitt (Canton, Mich.), will head to Istanbul, Turkey to represent Team USA at the 2012 FINA Short Course World Championships, December 12-16.

The Short Course World Championships, held every two years, will mark the first major international competition for many U.S. swimmers since their dominant performance at this summer’s Olympic Games in London. 

The U.S. roster in Istanbul will feature a total of 17 Olympians, including reigning FINA Short Course World Champion Lochte, who earned six gold medals and one silver medal at the last Short Course World Championships in Dubai, UAE. Two-time Olympian Schmitt will compete in her first Short Course World Championships this December and is coming off an impressive showing in London where she earned three gold medals and one silver and bronze medal. 

In addition to Lochte and Schmitt, a strong mix of veterans and up-and-comers round out the team. The men’s team features veterans and Olympic gold medalists Anthony Ervin (Berkeley, Calif.), Matt Grevers (Lake Forest, Ill.) and Conor Dwyer (Winnetka, Ill.) and up-and-comers Ryan Murphy (Jacksonville, Fla.) and Kevin Cordes (Naperville, Ill.). The women’s team will be led by veterans Jessica Hardy (Long Beach, Calif.), Kara Lynn Joyce (Athens, Ga.) and Kathleen Hersey (Atlanta, Ga.), and will also include rising stars Olivia Smoliga (Glenview, Ill.) and Megan Romano (St. Petersburg, Fla.).

A complete roster for the U.S. 2012 Short Course World Championships Team can be found here.

The U.S. swimmers selected to compete at the Short Course World Championships were chosen based upon their performance at any of the three meets: the 2012 U.S. Olympic Trials, the 2012 Olympic Games or the 2012 U.S. Open.

The event in Istanbul will be the 11th FINA Short Course World Championships, an event which has been held every two years since the inaugural Championships in Palma de Mallorca, Spain in 1993. The event in Istanbul will take place at the Sinan Erdem Dome, which is a multi-purpose indoor arena that is located on the European side of Istanbul, Turkey. The official host website for the event can be found here.