USA Swimming Names 2013-14 Open Water National Teams


Two dozen of the nation’s top open water swimmers today were named to the 2013-14 USA Swimming Open Water National Team and National Junior Team, respectively.

Highlighting the 12-member National Team are 2012 Olympians Andrew Gemmell (Wilmington, Del.) and Alex Meyer (Ithaca, N.Y.), who won the 10-kilometer national title at the 2013 Open Water National Championships, on the men’s side. The women’s roster is headlined by 2013 10k national champion Christine Jennings (Longmont, Colo.) and runner-up Becca Mann (Saint Petersburg, Ill.). A complete National Team roster is available at usaswimming.org.

The top six finishers in the 10k at last month’s Open Water Nationals in Santa Clarita, Calif., qualified for the 2013-14 National Team.

In addition, USA Swimming named 12 swimmers to the Open Water National Junior Team based on their performances at Nationals. The 2013-14 Junior National Team is comprised of the top six 18-and-under finishers in last month’s 10k national championship event, provided all team members finished within 15 minutes of the first place and have not have previously been on a higher ranked international National Team. A complete Junior National Team roster is available at usaswimming.org.

Benefits offered to USA Swimming National Team members include reimbursement for travel to USA Swimming Arena Grand Prix Series meets and training camp opportunities. Select athletes are eligible for monthly assistance and Elite Athlete Health Insurance. 

ArenaBMWMarriottMyrtha PoolsOmegaPhillips 66SpeedoTYR