Six Meet Records Fall as Speedo Winter Junior Nationals Conclude in Greensboro


Swimmers established six meet records on Saturday night at the Greensboro Aquatic Center as the Speedo Winter Junior National Championships came to a close on the third and final night of action.


Clara Smiddy of the AK Sharks continued her spectacular meet with a meet record in the women’s 200y backstroke with a time of 1:50.59. Kylie Stewart of Dynamo Swim Club also beat the previous meet record. Stewart touched second in 1:53.12 and Claire Adams of Carmel Swim Club took third in 1:54.13.


In the men’s 200y backstroke Tristan Sanders (Palm Harbor YMCA) claimed gold with a time of 1:42.50. Hennessey Stuart (Denver Swim Academy) took second in 1:42.75 and Ethan Young (Carpet Capital Aquatics Club) touched third in 1:43.06.


Caleb Dressel of the Bolles School Sharks continued his magic in the men’s 100y freestyle, setting another meet record with a time of 42.85. Dylan Cater (unattached) touched second with a time of 43.07 and Ryan Hoffer of the Scottsdale Aquatics Club came in third in a time of 43.13. All three medalists went under the previous meet record.


Abbigail Weitzeil (Canyons Aquatic) made her mark in the women’s 100y freestyle with a meet record time of 47.78. Clara Smiddy AK Sharks claimed silverin 48.97 and Lindsey Engel (JCC Waves) touched third in 49.15.
Later in the evening Kennedy Lohman of Lakeside Swim Team won the women’s 200y breaststroke in a time of 2:10.87. Lillia King (Newburgh Sea Creatures) finished second in 2:11.17 and Maija Roses (SwimMAC Carolina) claimed third in 2:12.00.


On the men’s side Curtis Ogren of Palo Alto Stanford Aquatics continued his winning ways with a 200y breaststroke time of 1:57.64. Thomas Brewer of Current Swimming finished just behind Ogren in 1:57.73 and Matthew Whittle (Davis Aquadarts) finished a close third in 1:57.75.


The women’s 1650y freestyle saw Leah Stevens (Lakeside Swim Team) claim the top spot in 16:19.29. Sandra Soe (Santa Clara Swim Club) finished second in 16:24.35 and Amanda Richey (Boulder Swimming) touched third in 16:26.45.


In the men’s mile Kevin Litherland (Dynamo Swim Club) beat the field in a time of 14:58.77. Francis Hass (NOVA of Virginia) took second in 15:06.13 and Jonathan Roberts (North Texas Nadadores) claimed the bronze medal in 15:10.15.


Megan Kingsley (Mount Pleasant Swim Club) claimed a meet record of her own in the women’s 200y butterfly. Kingsley set the mark of 1:55.26. Madison Wright (Kingfish Aquatic Club) came in second in 1:55.30 and Lindsey Engel (JCC Waves) took third in 1:57.86.


In the final individual event of the evening Robert McHugh (Baylor Swim Club) set the fifth meet record of the session with a time of 1:43.64 in the men’s 200y butterfly. Mick Litherland (Dynamo Swim Club) took second in 1:46.01 and Zachary Buerger (Allegheny North Swim Club) finished in third with a time of 1:46.35.


The relays saw the sixth meet record of the evening established. In the women’s 4x100y freestyle relay SwimMAC Carolina set the mark at 3:17.83. Carmel Swim Club took second in 3:18.23 and Ozaukee Aquatics had the third fastest time in 3:20.42.


In the men’s 4x100y freestyle relay Dynamo Swim Club claimed the top spot with a time of 2:59.69. Scottsdale Aquatic Club took second in 3:00.22 and The Bolles School Sharks finished in third place with a time of 3:01.32.


With the conclusion of Saturday night’s action in Greensboro the 2013 Speedo Winter Junior National Championships have come to a close. Please visit our Junior Nationals page for full event results and other related information.

ArenaBMWMarriottMyrtha PoolsOmegaPhillips 66SpeedoTYR