Adrian, Ledecky and Lochte Pick Up Second Wins in Mesa


Olympic gold medalists Nathan Adrian (Bremerton, Wash.), Katie Ledecky (Bethesda, Md.) and Ryan Lochte (Dayton Beach, Fla.) each claimed their second victories of the meet to highlight Friday’s action at the Arena Grand Prix at Mesa at Skyline Aquatic Center.

Competition concludes Saturday with prelims at 9 a.m. MST followed by finals at 5 p.m.

In one of the night’s most anticipated match-ups, Ledecky won the women’s 200-meter free in 1 minute, 56.27 seconds after taking the 400m free on Thursday. Fellow gold medalist Allison Schmitt (Canton, Mich.) touched in 1:56.90 for second to edge Katie Hoff’s (Towson, Md.) time of 1:59.93. A two-time Olympian, Hoff is competing in her first major meet since the 2012 Olympic Trials.

In the men’s 50m free, Adrian bested a deep field with a winning swim of 21.73. South Africa’s Roland Schoeman touched in 22.19 for second and Josh Schneider (Cincinnati, Ohio) took third with a time of 22.24. Adrian swept the sprint freestyle events with a win in the 100m free on Thursday.

Lochte, who won the 100m fly on Thursday, also added his second victory in Mesa, winning the 200m free in 1:49.48. South Africa’s Darian Townsend was second in 1:49.94 and Michael McBroom (The Woodlands, Texas) finished third in 1:50.42.

In the first race of the night, Olympic medalist Elizabeth Beisel (Saunderstown, R.I.) won the women’s 400m individual medley with a time of 4:39.68. Becca Mann (Homer Glen, Ill.) came in second with a time of 4:42.78, while Sweden’s Stina Gardell touched third in 4:43.87.

On the men’s side, gold medalist Tyler Clary (Riverside, Calif.) finished first in the 400m IM with a swim of 4:19.00. Conor Dwyer (Winnetka, Ill.) followed in 4:22.26, while Austria’s Jakub Maly rounded out the top three in 4:23.93.

Clara Smiddy (Miami, Fla.) had a convincing win in the women’s 200m back with a time of 2:12.53. Mexico’s Maria Gonzalez Ramirez finished second in 2:13.37, and Beisel touched in 2:13.75 to round out the top three.

Russia’s Arkady Vyatchanin won the men’s 200m back in 1:58.04, while Clary finished second (1:59.26) and Ryan Murphy (Jacksonville, Fla.) took third (2:00.27).

Cheyenne Coffman (Prather, Calif.) got off the blocks quick and found herself atop the podium in the women’s 50m free, touching in 25.16. Amanda Weir (Lawrenceville, Ga.) took second in 25.45 and Natalie Coughlin (Vallejo, Calif.) grabbed third in 25.54. 

Twenty-two-time Olympic medalist Michael Phelps (Baltimore, Md.) concluded his first meet since the 2012 Olympic Games on Friday morning after swimming butterfly in prelims of the 50m free. He touched in 24.06.

Universal Sports Network will televise live coverage from the Arena Grand Prix at Mesa on Saturday at 8 p.m. EDT. Additionally, a live webcast of the entire meet will be streamed online via

The Arena Grand Prix at Mesa is the fourth stop of USA Swimming’s 2013-14 Arena Grand Prix Series, which provides the nation’s best swimmers six opportunities to face top-flight competition on U.S. soil.

As part of USA Swimming’s partnership with Arena, the Arena Grand Prix Series will offer swimmers the opportunity to take home prize money for top finishes in all individual Olympic-distance events. In total, $150,000 in prize money is available to be distributed over the course of the six-meet series. At each meet, $500 will be awarded for a first-place finish, $300 for second and $100 for third in all individual events. Arena is serving as the title sponsor for the Arena Grand Prix Series for the second straight season.

In addition to the prize money, swimmers will compete for a Series grand prize from BMW. For the first time in the history of the Series, BMW will give the highest-scoring eligible male and female U.S. swimmer a one-year lease of a BMW ActiveHybrid 3 Series.

Male and female overall Arena Grand Prix Series champions will be honored at the conclusion of the 2013-14 series based on the number of points accumulated throughout the six meets. Participants will be awarded points in each individual Olympic event throughout the duration of the Series (Five points for first, three for second, one point for third place). 

ArenaBMWMarriottMyrtha PoolsOmegaPhillips 66SpeedoTYR