U.S. National Teamers shine at women's NCAAs


The University of Georgia came out on top of the 2014 Women’s NCAA Division I Swimming and Diving Championships Saturday, besting runner-up Stanford University 528-402.5. The meet was held March 20-22 at the University of Minnesota Aquatic Center in Minneapolis.


Missy Franklin swimming freestyle in a Cal cap. (Small)Five-time Olympic medalist Missy Franklin, representing the University of California, set an NCAA, U.S. Open and American record in the 200-yard freestyle, turning in a time of 1:40.31. It was one of two titles for the freshman, who also helped Cal teammates Rachael Acker, Caroline Piehl and Elizabeth Pelton to a win in the 800y free relay in 6:54.94.


Another Olympian, Breeja Larson of Texas A&M, set the NCAA, U.S. Open and American record in the 100y breast in 57.23. Later in the meet, U.S. National Teamer Emma Reaney of Notre Dame, broke her own NCAA, U.S. Open and American record in the women’s 200y breaststroke in 2:04.06.


Four other NCAA records fell over the course of the three-day meet. Georgia’s Brittany MacLean set the NCAA records in the 500y and 1650y free, in 4:32.53 and 15:37, respectively. Maya DiRado, Katie Olsen, Felicia Lee and Lia Neal of Stanford set the NCAA record in the 400y medley relay in 3:27.51.


DiRado, a member of the 2013 U.S. World Championship Team, had a stellar meet, taking home titles in the 400y free relay, 400y medley relay, 200y IM and 400y IM. She also finished second in the 200y butterfly in 1:52.99 and third in 800 free relay.


Other U.S. National Team members winning individual events in Minneapolis were Olivia Smoliga of Georgia in the 50y free (21.59), Felicia Lee of Stanford in the 100y fly (50.89), Margo Geer of the University of Arizona in the 100y free (47.10) and Olympian Cammile Adams of Texas A&M in the 200y fly (1:52.25).


Cal finished third behind Georgia and Stanford with 386 points, while Texas A&M and the University of Southern California rounded out the top five with 336 and 252 points. 


Complete Results 

ArenaBMWMarriottMyrtha PoolsOmegaPhillips 66SpeedoTYR