Missy Franklin Sets National Age Group Record in Minneapolis


MINNEAPOLIS, Minn. – On the first night of the Minneapolis Grand Prix, Missy Franklin (Centennial, Colo.) started the night off with a win in the 200y free, touching the wall in a time of 1:42.28. The meet, taking place at the University of Minnesota, is the first stop in the 2012-2013 USA Swimming Grand Prix Series.

The 17-year-old’s time set a National Age Group record for 17-18 girls and was four seconds ahead of second place finisher Dagny Knutson (Minot, N.D.), who touched at 1:46.70. Chloe Sutton (Mission Viejo, Calif.) claimed third with a 1:47.20.

Ryan Lochte (Daytona Beach, Fla.) won the men’s 200y free, finishing with a time of 1:35.15 after running down Denmark’s Mads Glaesner, who led the majority of the race. Lochte pulled out his famous underwater kicking throughout the last 50-yards of the race with Glaesner touching in 1:35.69. National Team Member Bobby Bollier (Mission Hills, Kan.) finished third overall, touching the wall at 1:37.86.

National Teamer Ashley Wanland (Long Grove, Ill.) held off Canada’s Jillian Tyler to win the women’s 100y breast, finishing in a time of 59.96 and winning her first medal of the 2012-2013 Grand Prix Series. Tyler touched in 1:00.32 and was chased down by Minnesota Gopher Kierra Smith who finished in third with a 1:00.43.

In the men’s 100y breast, National Team Member Mike Alexandrov (Champaign, Ill.) won the event, leading from start to finish and out-touched Portugal’s Carlos Almeida. Alexandrov touched in a time of 52.80, shaving over a second off his prelim time. Olympian Scott Weltz (San Jose, Calif.) finished third in the event at 53.74.

Olympic gold medalist Claire Donahue (Bowling Green, Ky.) easily won the women’s 100y fly, touching the wall in a time of 52.71, well over a second ahead of the field. Kathryn McLaughlin of the Mission Viejo Nadadores out-touched Rebecca Weiland of the University of Minnesota for second place with a 54.31 to 54.33.

Lochte claimed his second victory of the night in the 100y fly touching in 46.73. Kyler Van Swol of the Gophers touched in 47.66 for the silver and Bollier finished third in 47.74.

In the women’s 400y IM, 14-year-old Becca Mann (Saint Petersburg, Ill.) took off to an early lead and extended it throughout the race, finishing 11 seconds ahead of the field and touching the wall in a time of 4:10.29. Isabella Rongione from Potomac Valley was the next to touch the wall in 4:21.21. Reagan Cook from SWAC Swim Team rounded out the top three in 4:23.51.

In the men’s 400y IM capped the individual heats of the night and was won by Luke Bushman of Minnesota Gopher Aquatics in 3:53.93. David Dimitrov of Liquid Lightening was second in 3:54.24 and Austin Vacek of KATY Aquatics was third in 3:57.65.

Complete results can be found online.

The Minneapolis Grand Prix will continue on Saturday, November 10 with prelims beginning at 9 a.m. CT and finals commencing at 6 p.m. Visit www.usaswimming.org for a complete schedule of events and for our webcast of the meet.





ArenaBMWMarriottMyrtha PoolsOmegaPhillips 66SpeedoTYR