Lochte and Franklin Double Up on Final Night of Minneapolis Grand Prix


MINNEAPOLIS, Minn. – Ryan Lochte (Daytona Beach, Fla.) and Missy Franklin (Centennial, Colo.) each won two events as the Minneapolis Grand Prix concluded in Minneapolis, Minn. Lochte took home wins in the 200y medley and 200y back. Franklin’s two wins came in the 200y back and 100y free.

Lochte easily won the 200y IM, finishing in 1:45.62, almost four seconds ahead of Minnesota’s Kyler Van Swol (1:49.24). Minnesota’s Brandon Hatanaka placed third in 1:50.75.

The final night of the Minneapolis Grand Prix started off with Chloe Sutton (Mission Viejo, Calif.) winning women’s 1650y in 15:49.41. Youngster Becca Mann (St. Petersburg, Ill.) accelerated the final 300 yards and powered to the wall, finishing second in 15:54.46 and breaking the National Age Group Record for 13-14 girls. The previous record in the event was 15:54.86, set in 1981 by Tiffany Cohen. Minnesota’s Ashley Steenvoorden (East Brunswick, N.J.) claimed third in the heat, touching in 15:57.11.

In the women’s 200y medley, Dagny Knutson (Minot, ND) touched first in 1:59.41 after a close race with Minnesota’s Kierra Smith, who grabbed second in 2:00.11. Gopher teammate Tori Simenec finished third in 2:02.13.

Missy Franklin (Centennial, Colo.) continued her hot streak this weekend, as she annihilated the women’s 200y backstroke, finishing in a time of 1:50.10. Golden Gophers Tess Behrens and Mickayla Hinkle took second and third in 1:56.07 and 1:58.19, respectively.

Within 16 minutes of picking up his first win of the night, Lochte walked away with his second victory by swimming a 1:41.13 in the 200y back. Gator teammate Arkady Vyatchanin took second in 1:44.06. Minnesota’s Carl Newenhouse grabbed third in 1:46.50.

Franklin took gold once again, winning the 100y free in 48.31. Erin Caflisch of Minnesota took second in 49.65 and Kathryn McLaughlin of Mission Viejo finished third in 49.77.

Garrett Weber-Gale (Milwaukee, Wis.) showed off his speed, winning the 100y free in 43.59. Second place went to Minnesota’s Hrvoje Capan and Gopher teammate Derek Toomey grabbed third in 45.20.

Denmark’s Mads Glaesner took control of the final event of the night, winning the men’s 1650y free in 14:48.53. Second place went to David Heron (Mission Viejo, Calif.) in 15:17.05 and Clayton Smith took third in 15:24.71.

Complete results from the Minneapolis Grand Prix along with taped races can be found online at the meet’s main page.

The Minneapolis Grand Prix was the first stop of the 2012-2013 USA Swimming Grand Prix Series. The Series will conclude June 2, 2013 in Santa Clara, Calif., and will also feature stops in Austin, Texas, Orlando Fla., Mesa, Ariz., and Charlotte, N.C.

The USA Swimming Grand Prix Series serves as an opportunity for swimmers to race against some of the best competition in the country as they continue their preparation for the 2012 FINA Short Course FINA World Championships in Istanbul, Turkey as well as the 2013 Phillips 66 National Championships in Indianapolis, Ind.

ArenaBMWMarriottMyrtha PoolsOmegaPhillips 66SpeedoTYR