Ledecky Breaks American Record as AT&T Winter Nationals Conclude


Katie Ledecky (Bethesda, Md.) shattered the American record in the women’s 1650y free on the final night of the 2013 AT&T Winter National Championships. Ledecky broke the previous record by more than nine seconds with a time of 15.15.17 and earned the Phillips 66 Performance Award for the swim.


Team awards were given to the men of SwimMAC Carolina and the women of Nation’s Capital Swim Club. Individual high-point awards were given to Missy Franklin (Centennial, Colo.) and Andrew Seliskar (McLean, Va.) for their overall meet performance.


Ledecky, who broke two world records this summer at the 2013 FINA World Championships, capped off a strong meet with her performance in the 1650y free. She led from start to finish and actually lapped the entire field in the final 500 yards. Her time of 15.15.17 broke the previous American record of 15:24.35 owned by Olympian Katie Hoff.


“I knew I had to be pretty controlled up front and save my legs so I tried to do that as best as I could and it definitely paid off throughout the race,” said Ledecky in a post-race interview. I felt really good going out and I just got into a good rhythm and tried to stick with it. This is my first short course American record so it’s really neat. It’s been a lot of fun this weekend. I had some good swims and wanted to end on a good note tonight.”


Second place in the 1650y free went to Lindsay Vrooman (Baden, Pa.) in 15:54.68 and Chloe Sutton (Mission Viejo, Calif.) was third in 15:57.45.


Olympic gold medalist Natalie Coughlin (Vallejo, Calif.) won the women’s 100y free, beating our fellow Olympians Amanda Weir (Lawrenceville, Ga.) and Missy Franklin (Centennial, Colo.). Coughlin led at the 50 yard mark and finished in 47.19, earning her second national title of the meet. Weir was second in 47.37 and Franklin finished third in 47.42.


Nathan Adrian (Bremerton, Wash.) celebrated his birthday in Knoxville with a win in the men’s 100y free. He swam a 41.39 for the win and was followed by Great Britain’s Adam Brown in 41.89. Matt Grevers (Lake Forest, Ill.) rounded out the top three in 41.99.


The women’s 200y back was won by Elizabeth Pelton (Baltimore, Md.). She took an early lead and finished in 1:49.59, almost two seconds ahead of second-place finisher Franklin, who swam a 1:51.54 for second. Canada’s Brooklyn Snodgrass was third in 1:52.68.  The men’s race saw a strong swim from Russia’s Arkady Vyatchanin, who won the men’s 200y back in 1:37.87. Vyatchanin turned in a personal best performance in the event. Jacob Pebley (Corvallis, Ore.) was second in 1:40.71 and Ryan Murphy (Jacksonville, Fla.) placed third in 1:41.02.


The men’s 1650y free saw podium dominance from swimmers training in Michigan with Connor Jaeger (Fair Haven, N.J.) taking the top spot in 14:39.02. Michael Klueh (Evansville, Ind.) was a close second in 14:40.20 and Denmark’s Anders Nielsen was third with a time of 14:47.88.


In other races, Kelsi Worrell (Mt. Holly, N.J.) won the women’s 200y fly in 1:54.12. Caitlin Leverenz (Tucson, Ariz.) was second in 1:55.17 and Rachel Bootsma (Eden Prairie, Minn.) placed third in 1:55.44.South Africa’s Dylan Bosch won the men’s 200y fly in 1:41.01. Seliskar picked up the second place spot in 1:42.55 and Romania’s Alexandru Coci was third in 1:43.27.


Jamaica’s Alia Atkinson won the 200y breast with a time of 2:06.22. She was followed by Micah Lawrence (Pflugerville, Texas) in 2:08.93 and Norway’s Stina Colleou was third in 2:09.50. The men’s race was won by Knoxville local Brad Craig (Midland, Mich.) with a time of 1:52.99. Chuck Katis (Falls Church, Va.) placed second in 1:53.84 and Addison Bray (Terre Haute, Ind.) was third in 1:54.89.


On demand video of the finals session is available via National television coverage from the meet will air on NBC on Saturday, Dec. 21 from 5-6 p.m. ET.

ArenaBMWMarriottMyrtha PoolsOmegaPhillips 66SpeedoTYR