Missy Franklin Named Finalist for 2013 Sportswoman of the Year


Missy Franklin 120National Team member Missy Franklin is a finalist for the Women’s Sports Foundation’s Sportswoman of the Year award. The winner will be announced at the 34th Annual Salute to Women in Sports on Oct. 16 at Cipriani Wall Street in New York City.

Franklin is one of eight finalists who were selected based on their athletic achievements between Aug. 13, 2012 and July 31, 2013. The other finalists include: Mao Asada, figure skating; Kelly Clark, snowboarding; Tina Maze, alpine skiing; Tatyana McFadden, Paralympic track and field; Inbee Park, golf; Jenn Suhr, track and field; and Serena Williams, Tennis.

Voting for Sportswoman of the Year is now open and runs through Sept. 9. To vote, click here.

At the 2013 FINA World Championships, Franklin won gold in the 200-meter freestyle, 100m backstroke and the 4x100m free relay during the nomination period. She went on to capture three more gold medals becoming the first women in history to win six gold medals at a single world championships. The 18-year-old also won four golds in the 100- and 200m back and free at the 2013 Phillips 66 National Championships in June.  

Over the past year, Franklin won several awards, including International Swimming Federation 2012 Female Swimmer of the Year, 2012 James E. Sullivan Award as top U.S. amateur athlete and 2013 ESPY Award for Best Female United States Olympic Athlete.

Past Sportswoman of the Year recipients include: (Individual) Gabrielle “Gabby” Douglas, Gymnastics; Yani Tseng, Golf; Yuna Kim, Figure skating; Erin Popovich, Paralympic Swimming; Martina Navratilova, Tennis, and Jackie Joyner-Kersee, Track & Field; (Team) Alex Morgan, Soccer; Abby Wambach, Soccer; Jessica Mendoza, Softball; Misty May & Kerri Walsh, Beach Volleyball; Lisa Leslie, Basketball, and Serena & Venus Williams, Tennis.

ArenaBMWMarriottMyrtha PoolsOmegaPhillips 66SpeedoTYR