McBroom, Friis Victorious to Open Santa Clara


Michael McBroom (The Woodlands, Texas) and Lotte Friis of Denmark were victorious Thursday in the 800-meter free and 1500m free, respectively, to open the Arena Grand Prix at Santa Clara at the George F. Haines International Swim Center. 

The 800m free silver medalist at the 2013 FINA World Championships, McBroom topped the field in the men’s 800m free with a time of 7 minutes, 49.96 seconds. U.S. Olympian Connor Jaeger (Fair Haven, N.J.) touched second in 7:50.59, while Canadian Olympian Ryan Cochrane swam to third in 7:57.10.   

Also a silver medalist as last year’s FINA World Championships, Friis convincingly took the women’s 1500m free in 16:00.35, 10 seconds clear of the field. Canada’s Brittany MacLean was second in 16:10.26. Fresh off her 10-kilometer open water national title, 16-year-old Becca Mann (Homer Glen, Ill.) touched third in 16:15.01.

Competition continues Friday through Sunday starting with 9 a.m. PDT prelims, followed by 5 p.m. PDT finals. Tickets are required for each session and can be ordered online at or purchased at the Swim Center store during the meet.  

Universal Sports Network will televise live coverage from the Arena Grand Prix at Santa Clara on Saturday and Sunday at 8 p.m. EDT/5 p.m. PDT. Click here to find Universal Sports Network on your television provider. Additionally, a live webcast of the entire meet will be streamed online Thursday through Sunday via 

The Arena Grand Prix at Santa Clara is the sixth and final stop of USA Swimming’s 2013-14 Arena Grand Prix Series, which provides the nation’s best swimmers opportunity to face top-flight competition on U.S. soil.

As part of USA Swimming’s partnership with Arena, the Arena Grand Prix Series offers swimmers the opportunity to take home prize money for top finishes in all individual Olympic-distance events. In total, $150,000 in prize money is available to be distributed over the course of the six-meet series. At each meet, $500 will be awarded for a first-place finish, $300 for second and $100 for third in all individual events. Arena is serving as the title sponsor for the Arena Grand Prix Series for the second straight season.

In addition to the prize money, swimmers will compete for a Series grand prize from BMW. For the first time in the history of the Series, BMW will give the highest-scoring eligible male and female U.S. swimmer a one-year lease of a BMW ActiveHybrid 7 Series. 

Male and female overall Arena Grand Prix Series champions will be honored at the conclusion of the 2013-14 series based on the number of points accumulated throughout the six meets. Participants will be awarded points in each individual Olympic event throughout the duration of the Series (Five points for first, three for second, one point for third place). 

In addition to serving as the series finale, the Arena Grand Prix at Santa Clara also serves as a key tune-up meet for the 2014 Phillips 66 National Championships, which are slated for Aug. 6-10 in Irvine, California. 

ArenaBMWMarriottMyrtha PoolsOmegaPhillips 66SpeedoTYR