USA Swimming Elects Four New Members of The Board of Directors

USA Swimming Elects Four New Members of The Board of Directors

By USA Swimming  | Saturday, September 14, 2019

ST. LOUIS, Mo. – USA Swimming, the national governing body for the sport of swimming in the United States, today announced the newly-elected members of its Board of Directors. The organization’s nearly 500 House of Delegates members elected four At-Large Directors at the annual convention in St. Louis, Missouri.

The four newly-elected voting members of the 15-member USA Swimming Board of Directors include:


Kathleen Prindle – 4-year term

Bill Schalz – 4-year term

Kenneth Chung – 3-year term

Jennifer Gibson – 3-year term

“We are delighted to welcome these deserving individuals to the Board of Directors,” USA Swimming Board of Directors Chair Bob Vincent said. “Each of these new members brings diverse and experienced backgrounds that will increase the board’s ability to best address matters affecting every member within our organization.”

Prindle currently serves on the Florida Gold Coast Local Swimming Committee (LSC) Board of Directors (Finance Chair, Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Chair), USA Swimming’s Senior Development National Committee, the American Swimming Coaches Association (ASCA) Board of Directors (Vice President), and the Florida State High School Athletic Association Advisory Board (past Chair). Corporately, Prindle has held multiple senior executive roles within New York City’s fashion industry. Since 1989, Prindle has promoted aquatics across the Eastern Seaboard by launching nine Learn-to-Swim programs, two USA Swimming club teams, two U.S. Masters teams and recreational programming. She is also an incredibly skilled and accomplished coach.  

Schalz has served on the Club Development, Olympic International Organizing and International Relations Committees and chaired the Governance Task Force. He, along with his wife Robin, founded the Academy Bullets Swim Club, which now has 600 swimmers, and accompanying swim school.

Chung is currently an Executive Vice President of Commercial Insurance at Chubb Group. He has over 38 years in performing various underwriting, risk management and leadership roles, has successfully managed sizable portfolios with responsibility for profit & loss, and coached and developed staff. Kenneth served on the Friends of Wellesley College Athletics National Committee to provide invaluable support for student athletes. He has also served as Board member, Treasurer and later Board Chair, for Leadership Education for Asian Pacifics (LEAP), a national nonprofit organization with the core strategic approach of developing people, informing society and empowering communities. Chung is a meet referee who has worked in New England and North Texas. Chung also serves as the North Texas LSC DEI Chair.

As an active USA Swimming coach since 1983, Gibson has coached in multiple LSC’s around the country while working with top programs. Following college at Ball State University, she began coaching in Fort Wayne, Indiana, and continued there for the first 18 years of her career. Additionally, she coached in Charlotte, N.C.; Phoenix, Ariz. and for the last eight years in Fort Lauderdale, Fla. Gibson’s USA Swimming experience includes: Age Group coach (36 years), parent of a swimmer, High School/Summer League coach, LSC Board Member, National Team International Team Manager, and ASCA board member.

USA Swimming sincerely thanks outgoing Board of Directors members and 2019 Convention award recipients for their service to the membership and dedication to swimming in the United States.


Outgoing Board of Directors Members:

John Bradley (2015-2019)

John Roy (2014-2019)

Mary Turner (2015-2019)

Dale Ammon (2017-2019)


2019 Board of Directors Member Award Recipients:

Dan McAllen (2014 - 2018)

Tim Bauer (2011 - 2018)

Robert Broyles (2009 - 2018)

Mark Weber (2014 - 2018)

Van Donkersgoed (2014 - 2018)

Tristan Formon (2016 - 2018)

Amy Hoppenrath (2014 - 2018)

Clark Hammond (2014 - 2018)

Sean Redmond (2016 - 2018)

Chip Peterson (2014 - 2018)

Derek Paul (2016 - 2018)

Jim Ryan (2004 - 2018)

Marie Scovron (2014 - 2018)



    Show More

    This is used as a workaround to display Twitter feeds properly. Please do not modify or remove - Michael C