Ledecky, Manuel and Cox Clock Wins on Final Night of TYR Pro Swim at Greensboro

Ledecky, Manuel and Cox Clock Wins on Final Night of TYR Pro Swim at Greensboro

By Emily Sampl//Contributor  | Sunday, November 10, 2019

Katie Ledecky won her third event of the meet, Simone Manuel tallied her second, and Madisyn Cox doubled up in wins as the first stop of the TYR Pro Swim Series wrapped up Saturday night at the Greensboro Aquatic Center in Greensboro, N.C.

Ledecky opened a packed night of finals with a convincing victory in the women’s 800m free, as her 8:14.95 was nearly 16 seconds faster than runner-up and 2020 Olympic open water qualifier Ashley Twichell (8:30.88).

Longhorn Aquatics’ Madisyn Cox earned her first of two wins in the women’s 200m breast as she cruised to a 2:26.71, ahead of 100m breast winner Sophie Hansson of NC State (2:27.80) and Mexico’s Melissa Rodriguez (2:28.17). Later in the evening, Cox posted a 2:11.70 in the women’s 200m IM final for her second victory of the night.

Alto Swim Club’s Simone Manuel, who already won the 100m free earlier in the meet, added the 50m free to her collection with a dominating 24.50, six-tenths ahead of Team Elite’s Catie DeLoof (25.10).

Two pool records fell in the 100m fly events – Maggie MacNeil from the University of Michigan clocked a 57.64 to lower the previous time of 57.80, set by Mission Viejo’s Amanda Kendall last year. Then, Guatemala’s Luis Martinez out-touched Dart Swimming’s Luca Urlando in the men’s event, 52.46 to 52.49. Martinez’s time cut .08 off Giles Smith’s 2018 record of 52.54.

A trio of swimmers dipped under the pool record in the men’s 200m IM final, with Mason Manta Rays’ Carson Foster leading the way in 1:58.93. Gator Swim Club’s Ryan Lochte (2:00.65) and Team Elite’s Abrahm DeVine (2:01.47) also swam under the former pool record of 2:02.18, set by Crimson Tide’s Christopher Reid in 2018.

A handful of other finals were also contested Saturday. Dart Swimming’s Chris Wieser topped the men’s 800m free final in 8:04.95, with Gator Swim Club’s Mitch D’Arrigo in second at 8:08.70. In the shortest event of the night, Team Elite’s Michael Chadwick raced to a 22.22 in the men’s 50m free.



    Show More

    This is used as a workaround to display Twitter feeds properly. Please do not modify or remove - Michael C