National Teamers Shine on Second Night of TYR Pro Swim at Knoxville

National Teamers Shine on Second Night of TYR Pro Swim at Knoxville

By Emily Sampl//Contributor  | Saturday, January 18, 2020

U.S. National Team swimmers dominated the second night of competition at the 2020 TYR Pro Swim Series in Knoxville, Tenn., with national team athletes taking home wins in seven of the eight finals contested.

Sun Devil’s Allison Schmitt, the American record-holder and 2012 Olympic champion, got the night off to a fast start with a win in the women’s 200m free. Schmitt pulled away from the field on the second 50 and extended her lead over the remaining half of the race to win in 1:56.01. Alto Swim Club’s Simone Manuel worked her way up from fourth to second with a 1:57.25, just in front of Saint Petersburg Aquatics’ Melanie Margalis’ 1:57.80.

In the men’s 200m free, Mason Manta Rays’ Carson Foster got out to an early lead and never looked back, touching in 1:47.74 for the win, just a few tenths off his personal best. Boulder City Henderson’s Zane Grothe earned his second runner-up finish of the meet with a 1:49.07 after he placed second in the 800m free last night. Swim Atlanta’s Jake Magahey rounded out the top three in 1:49.29.

Annie Lazor of Mission Viejo dominated the women’s 100m breast final, finishing just over six tenths off her lifetime best with a 1:06.68. Condors Swim Club’s Emily Escobedo posted the fastest second 50 of the entire field to move into second at 1:07.71, while Aggie Swim Club’s Bethany Galat touched third in 1:08.08.

Athens Bulldog’s Nic Fink nearly cracked the one minute barrier in the men’s 100m breast final, but settled for 1:00.00 and the win. Pinnacle Racing’s Anton McKee moved up from fourth to second with a 1:00.65. Tennessee’s Michael Houlie, competing in his home pool, got off to the early lead but faded to third in 1:01.27, a tie with Denmark’s Tobias Bjerg.  

Amanda Kendall earned another win for Mission Viejo with a near-personal best 57.65 in the women’s 100m fly final. Riptide’s Regan Smith, the world record-holder in both backstroke events, proved she’s a threat in fly as well with a 57.86 for second, while Cardinal Aquatics’ Kelsi Dahlia touched third in 57.98.

Sun Devil Swimming earned their second win of the night in the men’s 100m fly, courtesy of Giles Smith and his 52.56 performance in the A final. Harvard’s Dean Farris clocked a 53.07 for second, while New York Athletic Club’s Ryan Held and Canada’s Josiah Binnema posted matching 53.38s for third. Notably, Andrew Seliskar of Cal had the fastest time of the night in the B final at 52.52.

Longhorn Aquatics’ Madisyn Cox cruised to her first win of the meet in the women’s 400m IM, clearing 4:40 with a 4:39.25. Sun Devil’s Hali Flickinger, competing in her third final of the night, swam the fastest final 50 of the championship heat to overtake Nashville Aquatic Club’s Alex Walsh for second, 4:41.98 to 4:42.14.

Florida’s Kieran Smith and Pitchfork Aquatics’ Jarod Arroyo treated the crowd to a great race in the final event of the night, with the two swimmers battling it out down the home stretch after trading leads during the event. At the wall, Smith got the better of Arroyo, 4:16.36 to 4:16.67. Mason Manta Rays’ Carson Foster picked up another podium finish with a 4:18.85 for third.

Tomorrow’s prelims get underway at 9:30am EST, with finals scheduled to start at 6:30pm EST. Check out for live results and TV info.



    Show More

    This is used as a workaround to display Twitter feeds properly. Please do not modify or remove - Michael C