GrowingChampionsWebsite1230x300

Growing Champions for Life

Since 2013 USA Swimming has partnered with David Benzel and Growing Champions for Life, a non-profit organization dedicated to improving the youth sport experience, to provide resources and guidance to help parents support their swimmers. 

Growing Champions for Life nurtures the bond between parents and their children by providing them with positive and practical strategies for playing their role as sport parent effectively through the gift of unconditional love and the pursuit of personal excellence. Each month a new inspirational video, educational webinar, informative newsletter, interview and article are posted to support families on their journey through youth sports.

 

September webinar registration

How to Bullet-Proof Your Relationship With Your Child

Thursday, September 19, 2019- 9pm ET, 8pm CT, 7pm MT, 6pm PT

Description:

It often seems that we're unprepared for the challenges of parenting. Where's the owner's manual? This webinar will clarify for you the fundamental approach for making sure you have a rock-solid relationship with your child regardless of the trials and tribulations you may encounter. We'll break down the most effective way to handle simple things like bedtime issues and eating preferences, and the more complex things like school, sports, and friends. This session will include references to the professional work of Dr. William Glasser and his book "Choice Theory."

You will learn:
  • The basic needs of your child
  • The Quality World your child strives to have
  • When to negotiate and when not to
  • The two psychologies we have at our disposal;
David will connect the key life skills of the lesson with winning on the field, and in life. The Power Point materials are loaded with practical information worth saving for future reference.


Expert Interview: Don Deluzio

Don is a parent of five children plus the guardian of four other children - all of whom play varsity sports.

Don shares the story of how he and his wife lead and love this multi-racial family of athletes, and hold everyone accountable for their choices.

Link to listen