USA Swimming News

Monday, September 28, 2020

USA Swimming Elects Two New Members of The Board of Directors

USA Swimming Elects Two New Members of The Board of Directors

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – USA Swimming, the national governing body for the sport of swimming in the United States, today announced the newly-elected members of its Board of Directors. Over 500 of the organization’s eligible voting members of the House of Delegates (HOD) elected one At-Large Director at the first-ever virtual Convention, while eligible voting athletes elected one athlete representative. 
The two newly elected voting members of the 15-member USA Swimming Board of Directors are: 
Kathy Fish – At-Large Director – 4-year term 
Katie Meili – Athlete Representative – 4-year term 

“Since the introduction of our governance changes in 2018, we continue to welcome incredibly talented people to our board of directors who will help further steer the organization to greater heights,” USA Swimming Board of Directors Chair Bob Vincent said. “Together, Kathy and Katie embody years of experience, from every level within our sport, and will add important voices and perspectives to board discussions and decision-making.” 

USA Swimming Board of Directors Vice Chair and Chair-Elect Chris Brearton added: “As a strategic board, our responsibility is to help guide and support the USA Swimming staff in their endeavors to lead within the Olympic Movement. With the election of Katie and Kathy, we continue to build upon a board comprised of dedicated stewards, each with a combination of strong strategic acumen and solid swimming roots. I am confident they will both be invaluable resources to USA Swimming and all of our athletes”. 

As Chief Research, Development and Innovation Officer at P&G, Kathy Fish leads P&G’s innovation program, the organization of 7,000 talented innovators around the world and a $2 billion budget. A long-time employee of the American multinational consumer goods brand, Fish has worked to transform how P&G innovates, investing in culture, capabilities, and technologies to create innovation that improves consumers’ lives every day. This includes innovations on brands like Tide, Febreze, Pampers, Tampax, Pantene, Gillette and Crest along with connected products that elevate the consumer’s experience. Prior to her work at P&G she earned a degree in Chemical Engineering from Michigan State University. 

Her lifelong swimming journey spans 50 years, including 15 as a swimmer (Michiana Marlins, Michigan State University), 10 as an age-group coach, 20 as parent, four as a board president (Cincinnati Marlins) and today as Chair, A Matter of 50 Meters (Mason Manta Ray facility fundraising). 

Meili’s love of swimming began over 20 years ago in her hometown of Colleyville, Texas. As a young age-grouper, her goals centered around winning pretty-colored ribbons and eating candy after every meet. As Meili grew older, her focus shifted from candy and ribbons to competition and setting goals with diligent and persistent effort. Her swimming journey took her from the club level, through collegiate swimming, and on to a six-year professional career highlighted by winning two medals at the 2016 Olympic Games.

Meili graduated from Columbia University in 2013 with a degree in Psychology. She went on to graduate magna cum laude from Georgetown University Law Center in 2020.

In 2019, Meili worked as a student attorney for the Georgetown Juvenile Justice Clinic, where she provided representation to youth charged with misdemeanor and felony crimes in Washington, DC. In the Fall of 2020, Meili plans to join the law firm Jones Day, where she will practice corporate litigation.

USA Swimming sincerely thanks outgoing Board of Directors members and 2019 Convention award recipients for their service to the membership and dedication to swimming in the United States. 
Outgoing Board of Directors members: 
Tom Ugast (2018-2020) 
Davis Tarwater (2018-2020) 
2020 Board of Directors Member Award Recipients:
Robert Broyles (2009-2018) – Western Zone Director (2009-2013) and Vice Chair, Administration (2014-2018)
John Bradley (2015-2019) – Zone Director 
John Roy (2014-2019) – Zone Director 
Mary Turner (2015-2019) – Zone Director 
Dale Ammon (2017-2019) – Zone Director 
Tom Ugast (2018-2020) – Vice Chair, Fiscal Oversight
Davis Tarwater (2017-2020) – Athlete Representative (2017-2020), Vice Chair (2019-2020)

The complete list of USA Swimming Board of Directors members can be viewed at: 

News Tips

In an effort to more effectively tell the stories of our entire membership, we have created this news tip form.
When you hear of a story that is unique and interesting to you, it's probably interesting to someone else too. You're the ear to the ground of this organization - We heard you loud and clear and we need your help. Please fill in each of the fields in this form as completely as possible with the pertinent information so a writer could potentially follow up for a story.  The more information you can provide, the better. Thank you for all you do for the swimming community.


Connect With Our Community

© Copyright 2021 USA Swimming. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy Terms & Conditions