Recognition & Incentive Programs


Officials provide a critical role in any successful swim meet. There are a number of ways to recognize your officials and the contribution they make to your swimming program.




The Kenneth J. Pettigrew Award was created to honor Ken Pettigrew, a swimming official who devoted over 30 years to swimming. Each year the recipient is chosen by the Officials’ Committee and the award is presented at the annual convention.

Michael Phelps swimming in the semifinals of the 200m fly in Rio.

Kathleen Baker at short course Worlds



This award is given every two months to honor an outstanding LSC official for their contributions to local swimming.  The award is sponsored by Swimming World magazine and Hasty Awards.

You can nominate an outstanding official in your LSC by submitting the form referenced below through your LSC Officials Chair. Contact your LSC Officials Chair if you think there is someone in your LSC who is deserving of this recognition.

© Copyright 2020 USA Swimming. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy Terms & Conditions